Wednesday, June 29, 2011

Sorry if I accidentally switch to Spanish in this post...

Day two of classes has come and gone! Here are a few things you might be surprised to hear about me in Costa Rica...
1. I eat carbs. LOTS of them. At all meals and in between. Today, I had CAKE for breakfast and loved it. Yup, I'm a changed woman. Oh and did I mention my pants are already getting loose? Go figure...
2. I go to bed at 9. Not because I'm bored or homesick, because I'm legit tired. I don't know if it's the climate or what, but I'm seriously dead by 7:30. I get more sleep here than anywhere.
3. I haven't run since the day I got here and I'm not sure that I will. Instead, I will be playing soccer. No joke. There should be a game here tomorrow night between the staff and students, and my host dad told me that his daughter-in-law has a fun local team that I might be able to play on. He even said we'd go get me shoes :)
4. I'm already starting to think in spanish. It's really weird, and I don't always think correctly, but I translate in my head all the time now.
5. I suck at directions (thanks, dad). I did get lost yesterday for 1/2 hour. The worst part is that there are not street names here, so it's literally impossible to ask for directions unless you know city landmarks.
6. I started my first novel in Spanish yesterday. I'm reading Angels and Demons. I found it in our home library (yeah, I'm starting to realize my family is actually rich. They have another house in the mountains. Can't wait to see that!)
I think that's the news for now. If you want to send me mail, please send it to the school. CPI is the name of the school, and the address is

P.O. Box 151-3007 San JoaquĆ­n de Flores, Heredia, Costa Rica
If you put the mail to my attention, I should receive it. I love you all and I'll give you another update soon. By the way, I just ate a soup I helped make in cooking class (don't ask me what was in it because all i know is that there was some beef, potato-type vegetables, and "special sauce"). However, it was super good. Tonight I'm going to the movies to see cars in Spanish. Probably a waste of money since I won't understand but what the hey, good practice, right? I'll head home as soon as these monsoon rains stop. For real, it's CRAZY out there. Today is the first day we've had such hard rain. Kaiti wasn't lying when she said it was the hardest rain she's ever seen. Good thing I have plenty of homework to keep me busy until it stops! Adios!

No comments:

Post a Comment